Wednesday, 2 November 2011

Australian World Heritage Sites

On 25th of  May 2010, the Australia Post has issued the stamp series  features four UNESCO World Heritage sites in Australia. They are the Purnululu National Park in Western Australia, Kakadu National Park in the Northern Territory, Mount Warning in the Gondwana Rainforests, and the Tasmanian Wilderness.

The Gondwana Rainforests of Australia were first inscribed on the World Heritage List in 1986. They include discontinuous rainforest that occurs in New South Wales and south-east Queensland, surrounded by eucalypt forest and agricultural lands. They contain an almost complete record of the major evolution of plant life on Earth.


The Tasmanian Wilderness is one of three temperate wilderness areas remaining in the southern hemisphere that covering approximately 20 per cent of the state. It contains rocks from almost every geological period and it is recognised as an “International Centre for Plant Diversity”.

Purnululu National Park in Western Australia was inscribed on the UNESCO World Heritage List in 2003 as an outstanding example containing the major stages in the Earth’s evolutionary history, superlative natural phenomena, and areas of exceptional natural beauty. Found in the isolated east Kimberley region, it covers almost 2,400 square kilometres.



Kakadu National Park was inscribed on the World Heritage List in three stages over 11 years, and is included for its natural and cultural values. Kakadu is located in the tropical north of Australia, some 130 kilometres east of Darwin, and covers 19,804 square kilometres.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...