Sunday, 22 April 2012

Canadian National Park

Canadian Post issued two the stamp set features their national park on July 2007.
The respectively issue are one of issue stamps depicts Terra Nova National Park  released on July 6,2007 and  the other issue stamp depicts Jasper National Park released on July 20,2007. Both  stamps have uniform face value.

Terra Nova National Park

Terra Nova National Park is located on the east coast of Newfoundland in the Canadian province of Newfoundland and Labrador, along several inlets of Bonavista Bay. Terra Nova National Park was created in 1957 and was the first National Park in Newfoundland and Labrador. Terra Nova protects the Eastern Island Boreal Forest natural region.

Terra Nova's landscape is typical of the northeast coast of Newfoundland, with remnants of the Appalachian Mountains contributing to widely varied and rugged topography throughout the region. The coastline varies from cliffs and exposed headlands to sheltered inlets and coves, contributing to Newfoundland's prime recreational boating area.

Terra Nova  protects an area containing remnants of the Beothuk Nation, as well as many of the early pioneer European settlements in the region.Wildlife protected by the park range from small to large land mammals, migratory birds, and various marine life. Terra Nova, like many parks, has challenges in preserving its ecological integrity.Inland areas consist of rolling forested hills, exposed rock faces, and bogs, ponds and wetlands.
There are lots of things to do during your visit to Terra Nova National Park. There are two campgrounds that offer front country camping: Newman Sound and Malady Head.

Jasper National Park

Jasper National Park is the largest national park in the Canadian Rockies, spanning 10,878 km² . It is located in the province of Alberta, north of Banff National Park and west of the City of Edmonton. The park was established on September 14, 1907 as Jasper Forest Park, and was granted national park status in 1930, with the passing of the National Parks Act.Then this  park was declared as a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1984.The park includes the glaciers of the Columbia Icefield, hot springs, lakes, waterfalls and mountains.

Wildlife in the park includes elk, caribou, moose, mule deer, white-tailed deer, mountain goat, bighorn sheep, grizzly bear, black bear, beaver, Rocky Mountain pika, hoary marmot, grey wolf, mountain lion, and wolverine.
Numerous  outdoor related recreational activities (such as hiking, fishing, wildlife viewing, rafting, kayaking and camping) available in this park. The Miette Hot Springs are located close to the northeast entrance.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...