Saturday, 24 December 2011

The Majestic Owls–Marshall Islands 2008


On November 5, 2008, the Marshall Islands Postal Service issued six new stamps celebrating owls. Featuring artwork by world-renowned wildlife artist Michael Warren, the stamps depict six majestic owls: the Barn Owl, the Barred Owl, the Burrowing Owl, the Snowy Owl, the Great Horned Owl and Spotted Owls.

The Barn Owl became a part of the rural farm centuries ago for the shelter and plentiful sources of food.

The brown and white Barred Owl favours the dense forests of North and Central America, and was a familiar sight to the Native Americans and early European settlers.

The Burrowing Owl prefers open country, especially prairies, and nests in holes in the ground.
White as the windswept snows of its northern homelands, the Snowy Owl is a hardy bird of the open tundra.

The Great Horned Owl prefers the dense woodlands for nesting, but has been known to use caves and canyons as well.

The mottled plumes of the Spotted Owl blend with the flickering shadows of its forest refuge, making it almost impossible to detect.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...